My Drunken Past is Haunting Me

How I’m facing the ghost.

Danielle Emrey
5 min readAug 20, 2021
Photo by Camila Quintero Franco on Unsplash

The Phantom

It’s 1:30 in the morning, and I’m laying in bed: eyes maniacally open, brain going berserk, body restlessly tossing and turning.

Though it’s been over 22 months since I’ve last consumed alcohol, thoughts of my drinking continue to plague my mind (so do the alcohol induced side-effects on my sleep-patterns, which, at this point, I’m pretty sure are permanent).

Even though I’m sober, happy, healthy, and balanced, my brain cannot escape the horrifying memories that lurk in the darkest corners of my mind, and torment me late at night.

When these flashback-fiends do decide to awaken, they make their presence known. Like a black, angry, omnipresent phantom, they hang over my body, hiss in my ear, and weave themselves through my every thought.

At this point, there’s no real way to escape it: I am being haunted by my drunken past.

Sobriety: Sunny, with a Side of Shade

Demons of my past aside, since I’ve quit drinking, everything about my life has improved, tenfold, and that is no exaggeration. In fact, when I quit, I was in legitimate shock over how the elimination of just one thing could have such a positive, widespread ripple-effect…

--

--

Danielle Emrey

English Lit Nerd. Reader. Writer. Ex-Lush. Oxford Comma Enthusiast.